No announcement yet.

The Vega Chronicles (a multi-artist project)

  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • The Vega Chronicles (a multi-artist project)

    Hello AO!

    I have been assisting Scott Lawlor with the execution of the multi-artist project called The Vega Chronicles. An explanation of the project can be found in the original thread here in Collaborations.

    We are pleased to announce the release of Series 01 (chapters 1-4) tonight at midnight CST (Jan 15, 2016). The artists' whose work comprise this Series are Kinematik VKE, Rune Martinsen, Ian Haygreen, and Mike Hobson AKA Thought Experiment.

    This project is a free download.


    In the far distant future, a select group of people begin having strange dreams and visions of a distant alien culture. In the night sky they see a faint flickering glow, the last great gasp of a collapsing star, Vega. As the glow weakens, the visions and dreams multiply, compelling some of the people to use sound to transcribe these visions and share them with others.

    Years before, on a small planet orbiting the star of Vega, the sentient inhabitants had evolved to be able to communicate vast distances through a form of telepathy. Discovering Vega would soon destroy the only home they knew, the best astronomers of their civilization searched the heavens and located a few other beings who would be able to receive these telepathic transmissions. The civilization gathered the most talented, learned, and wise teachers, historians, and artists to transmit the history of the planet; from its distant past to the turbulent present before the dying star consumed their world. The only hope for their race to be remembered was if an alien species could understand, translate, and share this cultural archive with others. This was the last and best chance for them to be able to say "we were here".


    This project is an archive of translations of those transmissions that are only now reaching Earth after traveling the interstellar distances that separated our two worlds. Artists from around Earth have been in contact with each other in order to compile an archive containing this treasure of information. This archive is now known as The Vega Chronicles.

    The Vega Chronicles is presented in a series of 6 tomes, divided into 4 chapters each. In total, they comprise a 24-hour aural encyclopedia of culturally and historically significant events of this world which was blown into oblivion by it's star.

    Because of the effort of this group of highly skilled artists, engineers, teachers, cultural anthropologists, and other great minds from across all manner of sociological and theological disciplines of this far away planet, it's culture will live on in you, the final witnesses to a planet's culture and it's inhabitants, now gone but not forgotten.

    Scott Lawlor
    Chief Archivist for The Vega Chronicles
    Last edited by aoVI; 01-14-2016, 10:17 PM. Reason: fixin'

  • #2
    Chapters 5-8 are now available for streaming or free download.

    This series' artists are Windspace, ontol, Metadronos, and EugeneKha