Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Greeting all!

Hi fellow ambient music folks!

I have been a full time musician for decades, much of the time, especially in recent years, playing various ambient styles, but for some reason, I have never stumbled across this forum until today! I signed up immediately...

I mostly play dark ambient music, and specifically, I play music influenced by the works of H. P. Lovecraft and other Mythos authors and I use means of sound generation put forth by Italian Futurism (primarily Luigi Russolo) to create the timbres and samples I use in my music. 99% of my sounds are acoustically made, with some of them being manipulated in the studio, but mostly they are originally percussion (traditional percussion from various cultures playing traditionally or using extended techniques), instruments I have built (percussion or otherwise), or household items re-purposed to be noise makers. My main project is Seesar, and I work as part of the collective New Leaders of the Eldritch Cult, as well as I am a sound designer for Gothic and fairy tale immersive performance company Dread Falls Theatre.

I am a full time musician/composer/percussionist. The only other thing I do is Ethnomusicology research. I have written a number of papers on musical instruments and their construction interacting dialectically in the cultural, social, and historical settings in which they are played and built. I won't rant about that here. Not much of it deals directly with ambient music, although, some of it does, perhaps.

I have lived in various states and countries, most recently London, UK, but I currently live in Portland, OR (just moved here two months ago).

You can visit my website for more info or to hear my music (I'll post in the member's music section, too).

Thanks for reading and I am looking forward to engaging with the community! Cheers all!
    Will
    Seesar / New Leaders of the Eldritch Cult
    Percussionist / Ethnomusicologist