Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Synth recommendations around $500?

Hi ambientists,

I've been a computer musician for around 3 years and I've decided to start going analog soon.
    My budget is around $500, and because of the nature of my music, I'm considering to get one of these based on several hours of research:
    • A set of 2 or 3 Korg Volcas (I like the FM, Keys and Bass)
    • A Korg Minilogue
    • A Moog Mother 32

I know it all depends on everyone's choice, music style, patching skills, etc. but I would like to know your impressions on these synths, which one would you go with or if you have more recommendations to add to the list.

Thanks in advance

- Almanacs

I like the microKorg.

It is duotimbral, which allows interesting sounds. Patches can be stored.

It is not so easy to programm, because it violates the one-konb-one-function paradigm. But there is a software editor, which gives an intuitive acces to all parameters.

The mod matrix is a bit limited. - 4 slots per timbre (which is not so bad) , and the set of modulation targets is a bit too small (which IS bad). You may check this here: http://cdn.korg.com/us/support/downl...ce14e74cca.pdf - on page 30 ("patches" = mod matrix)

The DWGS waveforms (additional to the usual sine, saw, pulse...) make it possible e.g., to let the machine sing "aahh" and "oohh".

Soundcloud - Youtube - Petroglyph Music - Bandcamp

Comment

Originally posted by betadecay View Post
      I like the microKorg.

It is duotimbral, which allows interesting sounds. Patches can be stored.

It is not so easy to programm, because it violates the one-konb-one-function paradigm. But there is a software editor, which gives an intuitive acces to all parameters.