Guitarists! Let's talk about your axe/rig

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Guitarists! Let's talk about your axe/rig

Just curious what guitars people here are using for ambient or ambient-like music. After the tuba, I started playing metal on the bass and the guitar, and I'm wanting to get back to my guitars, so I'm curious what everyone else is using

I own:

Carvin DC-125C w/ a coil tap, so I can sorta pretend to get single coil strat-ish tones out of it. It only has a single pickup in the bridge.
    A Schecter low/mid end 7 string with humbuckers at the bridge and neck. Model escapes me, but it plays decently.
    ESP Ltd B-305 5-string with active electronics.

Of course I'll play whatever instrument I like; I'm just curious what the ambient guitarists here tend to use, or if there's a wide variety going on

Feel free to talk about overdrives, amps, effects, etc, too. Strymon and Neunaber stuff looks and sounds amazing in demos, and I'm starting to become a fan of the Zoom G5 as a multi effect. Right now my Octatrack is my main external effects unit, and looper, though the Monomachine has a sweet delay.
    Last edited by KrisM; 02-10-2014, 03:26 PM.
    Meh.

I'm down to one guitar, a cheap-ish Vintage V6 strat copy. I'm no virtuoso in the slightest and this ticks all my boxes; single coil sounds (nice and clean for heavily effected ambient and brash enough for when I still think I want to be in Mission of Burma or Big Black... ;)), comfy shape (play it sitting down 99% of the time), locking tuners, looks pretty nice (three colour sunburst with a red tortoiseshell pickguard).

Unfortunately it does seem to go wrong often... Strange buzzes from the trem, top strings go all sitar-like on me etc etc. Trem doesn't look quite right to me (small gap under the trem one side but not the other) so I guess I should get someone who knows what they're doing to look at it...