Where do I start ?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Where do I start ?

I am just getting into this and wondered where i can find good tutorials on how to start making ambient music, i have all the gear to do it , im particularly interested in how to make the evolving background tracks, any help on this one please

Hello Dakes2

Welcome to the ambient online community. You have definitely found the right place to learn much about the creative processes

You say you have all the gear, but, to better help us to help you it would be great if you could give us a run down of your tools.

cheers

andy
    I may not post anything useful, but at least I do it often

Bandcamp // SoundCloud // YouTube

Comment

First of all, welcome to the forum.

I had someone comment on my YouTube video this morning who asked the very same question. Was that you?

Cheers,
      -S1gns
      Synphaera Records
      Space | Time | Matter

Comment

Hi, yes it was me who posted on your you tube channel, I found it to be very good and inspiring, I have a good background in music and been playing guitar for many years, I have bought myself a Novation impulse 61 keyboard and just getting used to it, I am using Ableton Lite 10 and have Iris 2 plug in and also Sylenth 1 and captain chords plug ins, I really want to learn how to create this great music, I have lots of ideas but ableton is new to me and I have lots to learn with that, I need to start with the basics so any help or advice would be very welcome

Comment

I am afraid I cannot help you with Ableton.

I use REAPER, at the moment, and I have also used SONAR and Studio One.

But I would have thought that the process would be similar regardless of DAW used.

That said, you first need to get a reasonable understanding of your DAW, Ableton. Did it come bundled with your Novation Impulse?

Do you intend to incorporate your guitar in your music?

You do not mention if you have any hardware or software effects.